Learn about our approach to Distance Learning - View The Plan

Friday Flyer 1/15/2021

The Friday Flyer is a weekly communication from Orinda Academy. Please read it to stay up-to-date with news and events.
View this email in your browser
Orinda Academy

Friday Flyer

January 15, 2021

There is no school on Monday, January 18 in observation of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Day holiday.
9th and 10th Grade on Campus on Tuesday 1/19
9th and 10th grade families please RSVP with Sue for Tuesday’s on-campus “parking lot school” day. We will watch the weather and keep everyone posted about the rest of the week.
Scenes from the Parking Lot
Financial Aid Documents: Deadline
Returning families seeking financial aid need to submit their initial application by January 22.  Supporting documents need to be uploaded by February 7. SSS by NAIS can be accessed here: https://www.solutionsbysss.com/ and use Orinda Academy’s school code: 5379. If you have any questions about financial aid, please contact Business Manager Susan Neylan or Director of Admissions Janet Harrison.
The OA Show With Simon – Episode 13
Lots of art this week – and some entertaining dance moves! Click to watch…
College Corner
Sophomores and juniors: register for upcoming virtual college fairs in February and March. You can check out colleges at any or all of the fairs by region. There are separate fairs for the west, southeast, northeast, and midwest regions of the U.S. Students can meet college admissions representatives, learn more about campuses and programs they are interested in across the country. Check out more information and register by clicking HERE. Registration is for students only; parents will receive separate log in information when their student registers. All fairs are free to attend and are virtual.
Drop-in with Danielle
Danielle Jaynes, our Learning Specialist, hosts a weekly drop-in period every Wednesday during 7th period. Students should email Danielle for a Zoom invitation if you would like to stop by during her drop-in.
RenWeb – Student View of Posted Assignments
Parents who wish to see the student view of Renweb should ask their child for their login. Parents need to use the student login credentials to sign in at https://renweb1.renweb.com/renweb1/. The district code is ORIN-CA; parents, you will use your student’s username and password, and then be logged in to your student’s class schedule dashboard, where you see assignments, announcements, and documents for all classes.

Upcoming Events: Mark Your Calendars

January 18 – NO SCHOOL – Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
January 26 – PSAT for 10th/11th grades (regular virtual classes for all students who are not taking the PSAT)
February 15-19 – NO SCHOOL – Presidents Week

Orinda Academy Contact Information

(925) 254-7553
Attendance
attendance@orindaacademy.org
Sue Porter: Head of School
sue@orindaacademy.org
Mollie Mowat: Assistant Head of School
mollie@orindaacademy.org
Susan Neylan: Business Manager
susan@orindaacademy.org
Danielle Jaynes: Learning Specialist
danielle@orindaacademy.org
Janet Harrison: Admissions Director
janet@orindaacademy.org
Cyndy Gifford-Palermo: College Counselor
cyndy@orindaacademy.org
Laura Turnbull: Director of Academics
laura@orindaacademy.org
Jasmine Coleman: Student Success Coordinator
jasmine@orindaacademy.org
Chloe Jhangiani: Coyote Coast Counselor
cjhangiani@coyotecoast.com